Regional Marine Mammal Species Guides

Atlantic Species         

Alaskan Species     

In the United States, all marine mammals are protected by the federal Marine Mammal Protection Act, and some are additionally protected by the Endangered Species Act.  When viewing marine mammals, please make sure you are aware of your region’s approach regulations and responsible viewing guidelines to make sure your viewing activities keep the animals safe, and aren’t accidentally violating the law.

Photo credit: Bar Harbor Whale Watch

Photo credit: Bar Harbor Whale Watch